Connectivism (contd!)

Since the start of my educational career here at Walden University, my pathways to learning have multiplied, and actually seem to be exponentially increasing.  I am amazed at all of the resources available to a person in this day and age.  I was always proud of myself for being on Facebook and Pinterest; I felt so connected!  Yeah right!  With the start of my classes, I have come to love (and hate at times!) all of the learning opportunities I have, such as through reading blogs related to my field, or through discovering how to use new technology such as XMind to share my learning.  I am shocked at all of the various media resources available through my school’s online library, such as entire books or educational videos.  I think I am still in the shock-and-awe phase and have not become overwhelmed by it all, yet.

Blogs are my newest favorite tool; it is easy for me to learn from other people’s learning and sharing, though I still prefer getting my hands dirty and constructing my own knowledge.  Catching up on the blogs I follow through Feedreader has become a new favorite pastime; adding blogs which I uncover through research or recommendation is an exciting part of my workload.  Though I still go to Google with questions, I find myself starting with a blog in the list of search results over .edu or news sites.  I’m becoming quite the nerd!

According to connectivism, individuals learn as part of a complex network of people with varying experiences.  I am very much a part of a world-wide network of people, and I plug in to this network and each of its available data sources in order to gain information.  In our world today, we cannot separate ourselves from technology.  In fact, technology seems to have taken on a life of its own as it shapes our world and changes our networks of learning.  Hence, the development of terms such as Web 2.0, a newer version of internet activity that is “more social and participatory,” according to Paul Anderson (2007).  These networks of learning are constantly changing due to many factors including technology, a characteristic that adds to the complexity of my learning experience.  Even so, I find myself motivated by these challenges and opportunities!

References

Anderson, Paul. (2007). What is Web 2.0? Ideas, technologies, and implications for education. JISC Technology and Stardards Watch, 2. Retrieved from http://www.jisc.ac.uk/media/documents/techwatch/tsw0701b.pdf

Leave a Reply

