Reflections on RSS aggregators and learning from my classmates – THE best teachers?

I have to say that this RSS aggregator (spelling?! This blog and my EDUC 6115 class has introduced a whole new language to me that I have to get fluent in and PRONTO!) is about as addicting as Pinterest! As I read through my classmates’ blogs and complete research for my class, I can’t help but add the URLs for the sites I find both informational and eye-catching. I’m spending a lot more time reading and learning, copying and pasting URLs, and digging through the internet for relevant information, which I know will help me in my path to becoming an Instructional Designer in the long run, but right now, it’s keeping me from getting dinner on the table and playing with my kids! Choices, choices…

One site has repeatedly presented itself in the posts of my colleagues this week, and that is the blog of Cathy Moore. I am so glad I jumped on the bandwagon and checked her out! She apparently is a guru on “adult education,” and not in any traditional meaning of that phrase. The slogan below her webpage reads “Let’s save the world from boring training!” She is the Super Woman of educating people by respecting and challenging them as learners. When I found this infographic later in the week, it made me think of Cathy Moore and what I had learned from her site. Blog post after blog post showcases strategies and tools that can be used to engage adult learners, and I have to say I found myself thinking how I could apply what I read to my 2nd graders! In fact, I found this post from 2010 (4 years ago!), yet it points out the research that supports the critically different teaching styles employed by teachers of the Common Core – that helping students learn the strategies of metacognitive thinking creates a more effective, successful learner, more so that engaging them according to their learning style. I only JUST started teaching Common Core last year! I have to say, I, too, am greatly impressed by this woman!

References

Gutierrez, Karla. (2014, January 9). 10 Super Powers of the World’s Greatest Instructional Designers [Blog post]. Retrieved from http://info.shiftelearning.com/blog/bid/331573/10-Super-Powers-of-the-World-s-Greatest-Instructional-Designer?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+shiftelearningblog+(SHIFT’s+eLearning+Blog)

Moore, Cathy. (2010, September 10). Learning Styles: Worth our Time? [Blog post]. Retrieved from http://blog.cathy-moore.com/2010/09/learning-styles-worth-our-time/

One thought on “Reflections on RSS aggregators and learning from my classmates – THE best teachers?

  1. Thank you for sharing the 10 Super Power blog. There are some great tips on this sight that can be applied to any learning setting. Some of the tips that resonated with me most were numbers 1 and 2.
    I absolutely love to learn and am always looking for new subjects to learn about or to deepen my understanding of a particular content area. I try to encourage this passion in my children and those I teach but I have come to realize that learning is a personal journey that each individual must dare to explore on their own. This thought leads me to #2: Having a Deep Understanding of How People Learn. It is essential that instructors take the whole person into account when attempting to teach them. This is our charge as instructors. In considering the whole person and understanding how they learn we must also take learning disabilities into account. A study was recently conducted focusing on 22 adult learners with disabilities ranging from mobility impairment, ADD or ADHD, psychological or psychiatric disabilities and health impairments. The research revealed that the most accessible tools included:
    • E-mail
    • Course-related files in Word, PowerPoint, and similar software programs
    • WebCT, BlackBoard, FirstClass (although sometimes these programs are used for content that is not accessible)
    • Course web pages
    • In-class presentations using PowerPoint
    Video conferencing, audio clips and files, content that uses Flash, live online or voice based chat was amongst the least accessible for learners.
    I found this blog article to be helpful because it helps me to think outside of my own scope of learning and teaching. It is not about me when I am teaching and that takes a certain level of humility to acknowledge that and build instruction upon.

    Veronica Clark

    References:
    Wolforth, J. (n.d.) College and university students with disabilities speak out on their e-learning experiences. Retrieved from http://www.neads.ca/conference2006/en/future_wolforth.php

    Like

Leave a Reply

