Some interesting links…

This is my first-ever blog post.  (*Eek!) I will be providing links to some sites and resources that should benefit my classmates and me as we complete our coursework and later jump into the field of Instructional Design and Technology.  Here is what I’ve found so far…

 

ASTD Links  This e-newsletter is published twice a month and hosts a variety of articles relevant to Instructional Design and Technology.  ASTD (American Society for Training and Development) will shortly be known as ATD (Association for Talent Development.  I hope to gain a better and ever-updated sense of what is going on in the world of education and technology by utilizing this newsletter for its advice and research content.

Cool Tools for 21st Century Learners This site offers some incredible tools to use for teachers trying to integrate technology into their classroom.  If you’re like me, you’re a teacher who grew up in a world that had internet and was educated in an area with access to the basics (think ELMO and SmartBoards).  This site looks like it dives SO MUCH DEEPER in order to help teachers be one step ahead of their students rather than asking them for help using this stuff.  Can’t wait to dig around and see what I can tailor for use in my elementary classroom!

ABC Splash  This site is actually Australian, but I LOVE IT!  As a teacher in the US (Maryland, actually!), I stumbled upon this site and wondered why I haven’t seen something similar here at home.  Scholastic comes pretty close, but this site is so much FUN!  (Probably just because it’s Australian-based – who doesn’t love the land down under?!) It has endless links to games, articles, videos, and even event posts for teachers of all grades across all curriculums.  This will probably be one of my go-tos for activities to use to expand on my school’s curriculum and resources.  I’ve already found a game I can use tomorrow in class!

 

WHAT DO YOU THINK?  Ever had any experience with any of these resources?

 

Leave a Reply

